Sunday, January 21, 2018

Shamrock 5K Run Paddy's Day MUN Campus

On St. Patrick's Day Saturday March 17 take in an early-evening early-season race including 2 laps of MUN campus starting and finishing by Burton's Pond.

Shamrock Run 2018 starts 5:30pm and your $45 registration fee includes a beverage at the Breezeway following the run (age 19 & over), a shirt & toque, and a finisher medal. There will also be prizes from race sponsors Quidi Vidi Brewery, St. John's Back Pain Clinic, The Battery Cafe, The Outfitters, Smartwool, and Spartan Fitness with more in the works.

For more information and registration check out shamrockrun.ca or email Race Director John Walsh terranovarunner@gmail.com.

Tuesday, January 09, 2018

2018 NLAA Sanctioned Road Races

The NLAA road race calendar is now finalized with another busy season just around the corner! The sanctioned races are at THIS LINK and summarized as follows:
  • Boston Pizza Flat Out 5K - Sun Apr 15
  • Nautilus Mundy Pond 5K - Sun Apr 29
  • Nautilus Harbour Front 10K - Sun May 20 May 13
  • ANE Mile - Sun May 27
  • VOCM 740 Garnish 10K - Sat Jun 2
  • USR 10K Half & Relay - Sun Jun 10
  • Mews Memorial 8K - Sun Jul 8
  • Carved By The Sea Bay Roberts 10K - Sun Jul 15
  • Tely 10 - Sun Jul 22
  • Commander Gander 5K 10K - Sun Aug 5
  • Paradise Figure 8 8K - Sat Aug 11
  • Capital Subaru Huffin Puffin Marathon Half & Relay - Mon Sep 3
  • Paradise Five & Dime 5K 10K - Sat Sep 15
  • Woodwards Trapline Marathon Half & 10K - Sun Oct 7
  • Turkey Tea 10K - Sun Oct 7
  • Orangetheory Fitness Cape To Cabot 20K - Sun Oct 14
  • Run To Remember 11K - Sun Nov 11
These and other races are posted to our Running & MultiSport Calendarif you know of any other events of interest to the community just send details to admin@nlrunning.com and we'll get them added.

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Hypothermic Half February 4

The Running Room will host their annual Hypothermic Half Marathon 8am Sunday February 4th starting and finishing at the Mazol Shrine Center 530 Topsail Road.

As usual there will be finisher medals, a delicious post-race brunch, and great swag including a backpack and a neck warmer.

CLICK HERE to register, and do it before December 31 to save a few bucks!

Monday, December 18, 2017

Grand Bank-Fortune Running Club Spreads Christmas Cheer


The Grand Bank-Fortune Running Club laced up their sneakers this weekend to help spread some Christmas cheer.

Runners participated in their 3rd annual Random Act of Christmas Kindness Doorstep Challenge where they picked random people throughout the two communities who may have had a tough time this year, or just someone who could simply benefit from some festive goodwill. The group ran around both communities leaving gifts on doorsteps with a Christmas message inside.

The running club had a wonderful time spreading Christmas cheer to residents of Grand Bank & Fortune.

Submitted by Nancy Douglass

Boxing Day Fun Run Bowring Park

CANCELLED THIS YEAR DUE TO EXTREMELY ICY CONDITIONS

New World Running Club will host their annual Boxing Day Fun Run on Tuesday December 26.

Run starts 10:30am in Bowring Park from the west gate parking lot and includes your choice of either one or two 2K loops. Be sure to bring $5 and/or a food bank donation!