Friday, February 22, 2019

70 At 70 For Joe Ryan

In April Joe Ryan will be in The Netherlands running the Rotterdam Marathon, and then on May 26 it's the Ottawa Marathon, his 70th MARATHON ON HIS 70th BIRTHDAY!

Other plans this year include the Huffin' Puffin Marathon in September (his 32nd and 17th consecutive), and in October the Cape to Cabot 20k and the Lucerne Marathon in Switzerland.

He will take a group to Ottawa in May for either the half or full marathon, so if you're interested in a spring marathon or even your first marathon, contact Joe at Training starts the first week of March.
"I take each year as it comes and I'm grateful that I can still run long distances. I run because I can, and I run for those who can't. I run to stay physically fit and to be healthy. In a way I run because it is a gift I have been given. There are many who would love to be able to do what I do, but are unable to, so I run for them. Cheers, Joe"
Photo credit Greg Greening 

Monday, February 18, 2019

Indoor Tri School Championships May 25

Triathlon NL is hosting its first school championships for indoor triathlon, introducing the sport to the school system and serving as an athlete identification event for the 2021 Canada Summer Games (athletes born 2001 to 2005).

On May 25 participants will start at the MUN pool for the swim, and finish at Field House for a spin on stationary bikes and a run on the track.

CLICK HERE for details.

Thursday, February 14, 2019

Learn To Run In Paradise

Registration for the Paradise Running Club Winter/Spring Learn to Run Program is now open.

Start date is Saturday February 23 and space is limited to 25 spots on a first come first served basis.

To register or for more information please contact training coordinator Mark Didham at

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Row 4 Heart February 16

The Row 4 Heart is a fun and rewarding, team-based indoor rowing challenge and fundraiser to raise money for cardiac care in Newfoundland and Labrador. The event is February 16 and will be covered on OZFM and NTV, providing the public with a phone number to make pledges throughout the day.

Each team of 10 participants commits to 60 minutes on the rowing machine. During this hour, you and your team members will take turns on the rowing machine, all while encouraging your friends and family to support you with a donation over the phone, in person or online.

With YOUR help, we can improve care for the 1 in 3 patients impacted by cardiac illness in our province! It is easy to take part in this heart pumping event! Register online and pay a $100 team registration fee. Each team then fundraises a minimum of $100 per person.

CLICK HERE for more info and to register or donate.

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Hustle With Russell For Janeway

Mike Russell will be running across the island this June to raise money for the Janeway. His goal is to raise $10,000 to support the many children in hospital facing scary battles every day, including his young cousin!

In addition to his online fundraising campaign Mike will be reaching out along his route to encourage donations and to invite runners to join him for a run!

CLICK HERE to make a donation now, and we'll post more information and social media connections closer to the event.

Monday, January 21, 2019

Marathon Record For Bazeley

Kate Bazeley ran 2:39:55 at the Houston Marathon yesterday, good for 17th place overall in a powerful field, and breaking her own NL record.

Colin Fewer was top Masters runner (40 years+) in the Half Marathon with a time of 67:09.

Submitted by Art Meaney

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Welcome Trail Running NL

Trail running has long been part of the fiber in our community and now an organization has been formed bringing focus on this somewhat hidden gem in our province.

Trail Running Newfoundland & Labrador (TRNL not to be confused with TriNL or Triathlon NL) has launched a WEBSITE complete with all the usual social media platforms including a membership and t-shirt option.

Thanks to Robert Pond for spearheading this initiative, and stay tuned for information on many great trail running events throughout the season.